The United States and six Gulf nations jointly sanctioned six targets including individuals and entities on Wednesday that the US claims are affiliated with the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL, or ISIS).

The Terrorist Financing Targeting Center (TFTC) member states, including the US, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, blacklisted three money services businesses and one individual located in Turkey and Syria that provided "a critical financial and logistical lifeline" to ISIL, its branches and its global facilitation networks, the US Treasury said in a statement on its website.

Read more: Al Jazeera